NextNet

From P2P Foundation
Jump to navigation Jump to search

"NextNet" is an umbrella term used to refer to a variety of activities aimed at building next-generation distributed infrastructure.

Vision

<draft for a declaration of interdependence - broad statement about the core values and principles that unite us>

Stakeholders

<people projects and organizations working on realizing aspects of the above vision>

Organizations

The Foundation for P2P Alternatives http://p2pfoundation.net/The_Foundation_for_P2P_Alternatives Free Software Foundation http://www.fsf.org/ Future Forward Institute http://futureforwardinstitute.com/ New America Foundation http://newamerica.net/ Electronic Frontier Foundation https://www.eff.org/ Brave New Software http://www.bravenewsoftware.org/ Creative Commons http://creativecommons.org/ Commons Strategies Group http://www.commonsstrategies.org/ World Wide Web Consortium http://www.w3.org/ Personal Data Ecosystem Consortium http://personaldataecosystem.org/ FreedomBox Foundation http://freedomboxfoundation.org/ The New Economics Foundation http://www.neweconomics.org/

Academia

Program on Liberation Technology (Stanford) http://liberationtechnology.stanford.edu/

Projects

The GNU Project http://www.gnu.org/ FreedomBox Project http://wiki.debian.org/FreedomBox Open Source Ecology http://openfarmtech.org.nyud.net/wiki/Main_Page Appropedia http://appropedia.org/ VillageTelco http://www.villagetelco.org/ The Serval Project http://www.servalproject.org/ Tor Project https://www.torproject.org/


People / Blogs

Technology Liberation Front - http://techliberation.com/ The COOK Report on Internet Protocol - http://www.cookreport.com/ Shareable http://shareable.net/ On The Commons http://onthecommons.org/ Yes! Magazine http://www.yesmagazine.org/

Usage

The term came into use when Douglas Rushkoff posted:

http://shareable.net/blog/the-next-net


There is a twitter hashtag search here:

http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23NextNet

Architecture

A minimal-requirements proof-of-concept can be seen in a diagram here:

https://docs.google.com/present/view?id=dfxhxcx8_67c87nc9hp

Possibly related or consistent ideas

Mark Pesce's Plexus p2p distributed social network architecture: http://blog.p2pfoundation.net/why-we-need-a-wikileaks-for-social-media-marke-pesce-on-the-launching-of-the-plexus-project/2010/08/08 --Poor Richard 06:35, 2 April 2011 (UTC)